Cauliflower Pizza Crust Recipe

Tonight I made this delicious cauliflower crust pizza for Savannah and I. I did have my doubts about a pizza crust made from cauliflower but it was actually quite good and I couldn’t even taste a difference.

So, I actually did mess up my recipe a little bit. I think it is necessary to add a few egg whites to the cauliflower before baking it in the oven, just to keep the crust more together. ( so make a note of that if you decide to try this out)

1. Wash the cauliflower in cold water and remove the outer leaves.

photo-1042. Cut the cauliflower into small chunks, just small enough so that they will blend in the blender or cuisinart.

photo-1033. We used a blender, which to be honest… you should use the cuisinart; I think it will work better.

photo-1024. At this step, using cheese cloth you should drain the ground cauliflower of all of the water. I did not plan ahead, and we didn’t have any cheese cloth so I went ahead without it and tried to substitute a steamer..don’t do that..

photo-108The cauliflower just came out of the holes.

photo-1015. I pre-greased the baking sheet with spray oil. You can use any size or shape of baking sheet. I didn’t get fancy because this was my first time trying it. Spread the cauliflower evenly out and bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 375 degrees. Pull it out when the sides have started to crisp and brown a little. This is a good sign. You want a hard crust to be able to hold on to. Just like real pizza.

photo-100The rest is all fun..Choose your toppings, sauces and cheeses. We used a tomato sauce that we made with onions, fresh garlic, parsley, garlic power, oregano.. the whole ka bang. Grilled veggies, meat, tofu, cheese… go for it!

We love this shredded cheese made with skim milk. It is fat free and has 9 grams of protein in 1/4 a cup- which is only 45 calories! This is some really good stuff! You must try it!

photo-105

photo-107Cut those vegetables up!

photo-99So, as you can see we love mushrooms, peppers, onions, pineapple and black olives on our pizza! And yes, the cheese actually tastes JUST like cheese! I tell you it is amazing! No fat, half the calories and protein! (Can you tell I love it!)…mmm I am dreaming of a Tuna Melt for tomorrow.

photo-98So, if you try this recipe out, let us know how it turns out! Send us a picture of your creation and we may just feature it on our blog! 

photo-106I sat out by the pool today doing school work and it was just so pretty, I had to share it with you! The water is so warm as well..but not as warm as the air (at 95 degrees ).

photo-98 edit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust Recipe

  1. That pizza looks soo amazing!! Did it hold up well to cut and eat or were the egg whites needed? I bet ground tofu would have been good on it too but you had awesome toppings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

