Breakfast Muffins and Rainy Day Cooking

I have been really getting into waking up early in the morning here. I know it is usually the opposite in the summer, but not for me! I feel like I get so much done before anyone is awake. There is just something about baking a few healthy creations at 5:30am that makes me smile. Yesterday I made breakfast sweet potato fries with cinnamon and stevia, and today I made breakfast banana oat muffins.

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.39.09 AM

These muffins are so tasty and healthy at the same time!

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.39.38 AM

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.40.18 AM

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.40.28 AM

Here is the recipe:Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 9.10.47 AM

I used 2 tbs of cocoa powder for half of the batch. These muffins are great with the cocoa powder or without! If you use 4 tbs of cocoa powder, it only adds about 2 calories to each muffin 😀

Nutritional Information: (per muffin)

  • Calories: 121
  • Carbs: 20 g
  • Fat: 2 g
  • Protein: 4 g
  • Sodium: 35mg
  • Sugar: 4 g

I added some PB2 mixed with almond milk, to make it a chocolate peanut butter muffin.

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.40.05 AM

I have been really loving the Light Almond milk instead of the unsweetened version. The light version has 40 calories per cup (while the unsweetened has 30), but it tastes so much better in coffee and makes PB2 a little creamier.

Rainy days just make me want to cook, so I made some more creations. Since our neighbor so generously dropped off 2 heads of lettuce, 3 large zucchini, and 3 heads of broccoli from his garden, we made some organic strawberry jam for him.

photo 5-6

For an appetizer last night, I also whipped up a batch of crunchy no oil zucchini fries. I just cut up one zucchini, rolled the slices in egg whites, used a half cup of panko crumbs, and then baked at 400°F until they were brown. About 140 calories per zucchini.

photo 4-11

I couldn’t forget the marinara sauce!

photo 3-12

Since today was yet another rainy day, I worked out on the treadmill. It gets pretty boring, so I was only planning to do about 45 minutes, aka the length of a PLL episode 😀 Unfortunately, about 17 minutes into it, the treadmill started to smell like burning rubber, so I got off that thing fast! It was still raining outside, so I did level 1 of the 30 Day Shred. It was a pretty intense since I haven’t done any weight training in a while…

photo 3-13

 photo 2-14

I am really loving my new Nike Free 5.0 shoes. Sierra and I will review our different versions of the Nike Frees soon! (You can tell they are great because I was burning rubber on the treadmill :D)

photo 1-14

What are your favorite things to cook on rainy days?

 Have you tried the 30 day shred?

What shoes do you wear to exercise?

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Muffins and Rainy Day Cooking

  1. Muffins look amazing! Sometimes it is very peaceful and relaxing to run in the rain. But just sometimes and not very often. Just make sure you wear old shoes that you do not mind ruining! When you made the strawberry jam, were the strawberries ones you picked?

    Like

Leave a Reply

