Updates and Dinner

Long time no write, eh? Time just flies when you’re having fun… ha.ha.Yep, its been a fun couple of days…

Sunday, I stuck to my tradition of cramming a ton of schoolwork into one day (can you say procrastination??). It’s probably one of those traditions that shouldn’t be continued. On Monday, my family catered a lobster bake. For those of you who are wondering, its basically serving lobster and trying not to get the juice *shudder* all over you. Suffice to say, we are on the hunt for a strong smelling soap… We might even try tomato juice, although I’m not sure if that would work…

These are our very attractive uniforms.

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 7.59.21 PM

Most of today was internet-less. Remember how we used to have slow internet? Well now the internet just decides not to work for 9 hours at a time. Whatever. Its not like we wasted our whole day on the phone with the company or anything. pshh

Today’s workout was a six mile run. I was pretty proud of myself for running up all of the hills, and in Maine hills are basically all that we have!

photo-2

I couldn’t even stop to take a decent picture. Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.36.55 PM

Yesterday, I finally downloaded the Pinterest app on my phone. All I seem to do now is find pictures of food with kale, so naturally I had to go buy some. That stuff is good! Unsurprisingly, the only thing I can seem to make with it is different variations of pasta… When I am scrolling the “kale” pins, all of the ideas seem so great, but when it comes down to it I cannot find the ingredients or time to make a nice dish. Will work on that, but in the meantime I’ll give you a peek of one of my kale creations.

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.07.55 PMFor the noodles, I spiralized one zucchini and half of a yellow squash. I used this spiralizer, but a vegetable peeler would work just as well.

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.11.07 PM

I put them into a pan with some water, kale, and half a package of light tofu. After everything was done cooking, I added some tomato sauce and wala!

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.15.15 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.15.36 PM

To make this more of a lighter summer dish, you could eat everything raw and skip the kitchen (and the dishes!)

In case you wanted another tomato sauce/kale picture: (shirataki noodles)

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 8.36.47 PM

Speaking of summer, it is the perfect time to do some camping! Starr, my parents, and I are all going camping on an island in the middle of a lake on Thursday and Friday. We are super excited and can’t wait to show you pictures of us  after a few days with no electricity! 😀

Off to hit the hay and get some sleep before I have to stay awake all night swatting mosquitos… haha

What do you do with kale?

Do you go camping in the summer?

2 thoughts on “Updates and Dinner

  1. I love your blue running shorts..Yes procrastination is probably something that should not be continued lol haha. Love the spiralized noodles too! Kale is too bitter for me but I do enjoy lettuce. Like camping in a tent?? Hmm no thanks. I can think of better methods of torture! But cannot wait to hear your stories!!

    Like

  2. I like greens including kale. That’s the Greek again- dandelion greens, beet greens, chicory, spinach.. The old cooks boiled them to death – but I steam in a little water, drain and add olive oil or butter and lemon, maybe ground pepper. Serve hot or cold, as a side or base for salad. With crusty bread, summer tomatoes, imported feta and Kalamata olives on a hot day. Also any chilled melon, Greek yogurt, cooked rice, leftover meat or fish, etc, etc.
    The only formal Kale recipes I know of – but haven’t made – are Portuguese soup. Can’t wait to hear about the camping – especially after the pics your mother sent of possible dwellings and the minimalist approach to packing you were all planning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

