Rainy Florida Days

Good Morning,

I know it is only Tuesday, but gosh it really feels like it should be Thursday or Friday by now!

There was a large rain storm here last night on the south east coast of Florida, and the wind howled all night long. I didn’t sleep to well, so I decided to get up early and start work. Getting up early for me is 8:30 or 9. I guess it goes the same for most college kids- because my school was empty this morning! (but the sun had come out!)

Image

While walking towards Starbucks and the library I noticed something a little funny, who else has this? I am sure my funny tan lines are not as bad as some outdoor runners! But I do have to say that in person, my sock tan line is quite noticeable! I snapped a picture for everyone, but spared you the picture of my workout top sunburned shoulders as I am sure many of you can relate to that.

Image

Well, yesterday Savannah sent me a snapchat of her with a large jar of peanut butter. We all know how dangerous that could be, but she said it was a BOGO (buy one get one free) at Winn Dixie…so she HAD to…Sure Savannah..whatever you say! 🙂 I found her these cool snacks to make with bananas, peanut butter and almonds- which actually look quite healthy!

Image

 

I can’t wait to try them myself!

I also have to let you in on one of my favorite foods.. beans! And I will take them anyway or any kind!

Image

 

But just make sure to get them vegetarian and with no high fructose corn syrup!

Another great option, quick, easy and relatively cheap-nachos! Just as long as you pile on the veggies and protein and stay away from too much cheese!

Image

I made these with my sisters last weekend for movie night, and they were delicious! We used just a little fat free shredded cheese, Snyder’s white corn tortilla chips (which are reduced fat), and piled on red, yellow and green peppers, black beans, carrots, onions and tomatoes!

Image

Oh, and for a little protein we sprinkled on Boca Meatless Ground Crumbles. Some people say this tastes just like ground beef, but without all of the saturated fat! What a win win!

And while I am sharing great food recipes, whenever I am home with my family we always make these yummy banana oatmeal chocolate cookies!

Image

 

They usually turn out to be more like clumps than pretty cookies..but their taste makes up for it!

Savannah was a fruititarian, or bananatarian for a while, and these were the perfect after dinner treats for her! Even as a vegan, just leave out the chocolate chips and these cookies are amazing. They have 3 ingredients: oatmeal, bananas and chocolate chips.

We will post a recipe and directions soon!

I am not sure about you on this one, but depending on how many times you use the restroom in a given day; this could be a great workout for the legs!

Image

Despite the weird looks you may get in a public restroom….

Have a great Tuesday!

-Sierra

 

5 thoughts on “Rainy Florida Days

  1. so many great looking snacks. I never knew about the crumbles. Thanks! I want to try Boca Ground Crumbles. Where can I find these?

    Like

    1. Thanks! We love that you love our snacks! We found the Boca Ground Crumbles in the freezer section of our Publix.. and I am sure that there are many other brands with similar products. Let us know how you like them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

